Vilborg Davíðsdóttir

Vilborg Davíðsdóttir was born on the 3rd of September, 1965 in Þingeyri. She graduated from the Ísafjörður high-school in 1984 and studied English at the University of Iceland for two terms, 1985-1986. She completed a degree in Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Iceland in 1991, and a BA in folkloristics in 2005. Vilborg worked as a journalist, reporter and producer in various media from 1985 to 2000. She has since dedicated herself to writing and translating, and is also studying for a masters degree in folkloristics at the University of Iceland.

Her first novel, Við Urðarbrunn, was published in 1993 and a sequel, Nornadómur, in 1994. Við Urðarbrunn was awarded by the Icelandic department of IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People) in 1994, and a year later, the sequel, Nornadómur, received the Reykjavík Schoolcounsel Children's Book Award. In 2001 the books were published in a single volume entitled Korku saga. Both novels have enjoyed a considerable popularity among teenagers and have been read in elementary- and secondary schools.

Vilborg's third book, Eldfórnin (1997), is an historical novel set in the 14th century, in the town Kirkjubæjarklaustur. The events of Vilborg's fourth novel, Galdur (2000) are also based on historic events, this time in the 15th century, in Skagafjörður.

The year 2002 saw the publication of Vilborg's translation of British novelist Trezza Azzopardi's The Hiding Place, or Felustaðurinn.

Sources describing the lives of inuits and nordic peoples inhabiting Greenland in the middle 15th century provide the background for Vilborg's fifth novel, Hrafninn (2005). The story touches on the mysterious disappearance of the settlements started in Greenland by Icelandic settlers around the year 1000. Hrafninn was nominated for the Icelandic Literature Prize.

Auður (2009), Vilborg's sixth novel, tells the story of settler Auður djúpúðga and the times of Viking invasions and settlements in the ninth century. Auður was also nominated for the Icelandic Literature Prize.

Við Urðarbrunn and Nornadómur were published in Faeroese translation in 2003 and 2004, respectively. Eldfórnin (Das Feueropfer) and Galdur (Der Liebeszauber) were published in German translation by Bertelsmann btb, also in 2003 and 2004. A German translation of Hrafninn from Bertelsmann btb is forthcoming.

Vilborg Davíðsdóttir lives in Reykjavík. She has three children.

Publisher: Mál og menning.


Senda Send Prenta Print Share on Facebook




Auður (51.79 MB) – Brot

Hrafninn (65.78 MB) – Brot

Skipta um leturstærð