Guðrún Eva Mínervudóttir

Guðrún Eva Mínervudóttir was born in Reykjavík on March 17, 1976. She worked as a waiter and bartender in various places in the years 1993 - 1996, while also studying at different high-schools. She graduated with a B.A. degree in philosophy from The University of Iceland in 2007. Guðrún Eva worked as a freelance journalist for newspaper Helgarpósturinn in 1996 - 1997. She is now a full time writer.

Guðrún Eva's first book, Sóley sólufegri, came out in 1998 in a very limited edition. In the same year the publishing house Bjartur published her short story collection Á meðan hann horfir á þig ertu María mey (While He Watches You, You are the Virgin Mary), to much acclaim. Since then Guðrún Eva has published five novels, a collection of philosophical stories for children published by The National Centre for Educational Materials and a book of poetry. She has also translated novels by foreign authors.

The novel Fyrirlestur um hamingjuna (A Lecture on Happiness) was nominated for The Icelandic Literature Prize in 2000, and the novel Sagan af sjóreknu píanóunum (The Story of the Pianoes That Drifted Ashore) was nominated for DV Cultural Prize for Literature in 2002. Guðrún Eva received the latter prize for her novel Yosoy in 2005. The movie rigths for Yosoy have been bought by Pegasus Pictures.

Guðrún Eva Mínervudóttir lives in Reykjavík.

Publisher: Mál og menning.

Author photo: The Reykjavík Museum of Photography.


Senda Send Prenta Print Share on Facebook



Skipta um leturstærð